Google defines “cheeky” to mean “endearingly irreverent.” Cheeky is a great place for this comedianne to work from. I get to say what I really think (irreverent) while maintaining my desire to not offend to the point of putting someone off (endearing).

If you are looking for some free tips on letting your cheek flag fly, there are just a few things I suggest keeping in mind.

Audience. With my husband, I have less of a filter than, say, with my co-workers. At the office one day, I found that shouting, “See ya, suckers!” at 5 p.m. was not something to replace my otherwise polite professional exits. It worked once, only because it was out of the ordinary.

Location. Where you are cheeky matters. Even if a joke pops in my head at church during prayers, and even if I know God created my ridiculous mind, I sense that it’s probably not the time to click away in my Notes app so I can remember it later. 

Recipe. Knowing how many parts irreverence to how many parts endearment is crucial. I’m sorry to say, this can be most easily judged after-the-fact. Too much irreverence may sound like you’re just venting. Too much endearment, and you may come across as confusing. If your audience laughs instinctively and freely, your joke landed. If their laughs are forced or otherwise muted, it bombed. You may need to follow up with a quick apology. I tend to apologize a lot, myself…

These tips should help you get started on honing your cheekiness, American-style.

Tell me about a time you were cheeky.


