Last week I heard some powerful poetry read as a modern dance team punctuated the message.

I didn’t agree with everything it communicated, but it did elicit strong emotions.

It was provocative art – art meant to incite you – inflamitory art. Hearing perspectives – especially ones differing from our own – makes us think and (perhaps) change. 

I walked away moved by a message of feminism. I didn’t overtly agree with a tone so divisive: male dominating female, female take back power. Not overtly because I am fortunate to know many amazing, uplifting, positive, and respectful males. But the core ideas of (some) women experiencing (some) men having too much power over their bodies/choices/life is a problem in society and messages bringing that to our attention needs not to be stifled.

Have you been affected by or inspired by art lately?

