Ah! Fresh mountain air! 

We arrived at our HomeAway rental cabin near Lake Arrowhead, on the mountain above the Los Angeles smog. It’s not very often we have the time and means to get away to California for a long weekend. We grabbed dinner at Stone Creek Bistro, and although we didn’t have a reservation, it didn’t take too long for two barstools to open up. I had a gourmet burger with duck fat fries; B had a sausage-stuffed rabbit dish with cheesy grits. Yum!

The next day, we visited our friends’ awesome shop in nearby Crestline (Hearth & Sage) and bought some fabulous hand-crafted home items like slate coasters and a mudcloth pillow. We had lunch at The Lakefront Taproom (amazing view but crowded). We had burgers and tots. Yes, that was my second burger within 24 hours… Don’t judge!  I was on vacation! After lunch we relaxed at the spa at Lake Arrowhead Resort. B had a massage and I had a transcendent facial by an esthetician named Katie. That evening, we bumbled around the twisty turns of the mountain roads and had a delicious dinner and enjoyable conversation at our friends’ lovely home. 

In the morning, we drove to Anaheim just as Disneyland was opening for the day. It had been many years since we visited, and it was a thrill to be back! Our first ride was Hyperspace Mountain, of course. Screaming as a roller coaster whips your hair back and body around is quite the contrast from sitting behind a desk! I felt the release from our normal lives – the daily grind & all that. I was free from the full breadth of responsibilities I normally tow. I was like, “Sure, I’ll give you $4.50 for a huge churro. I’m sure this place is expensive to keep going.”

After walking 10 miles, our feet and legs were all kinds of hurt. Muscles I forgot I owned came out of the woodwork to complain. But we also were able to pack in 11+ rides, 3 meals, shopping, and rest time on a peak day during a holiday weekend. Side note: We found that regular park-goers were obsessed with Dole Whip, standing in line even when the sun was at its highest like they were waiting for the new iPhone. 

But I digress. 

We walked back to our hotel and collapsed for the evening. 

The fourth morning of our trip, we ate breakfast at the Original Pancake House, hit the outlets off the I-10 before Indio (only briefly due to angry legs), and headed eastward, back to the 103 degrees of the desert. 

Actually, it’s really nice to be back home. We can now regroup and dream about our next vacation!
*Photo of Emoji Meringue taken at Jensen’s market in Blue Jay, California

