Have you ever done the exercise “stork turns”? You stand on one foot, placing your other foot behind your straight knee. Then you try to keep your balance while you rotate your bent knee forward and to the side, back and forth. Now switch legs. 

Okay, just Google it. It’s hard to explain. 

This exercise is good for range of motion in your pelvis. Beginners hold a doorframe during this exercise. Advanced are supposed to do it without support. I am now supposed to do it advanced-style, and boy, do I wobble!

Wobble is being off-balance. It is feeling unsure of your stance, your footing. It’s not doing an action perfectly fluid. 

Wobble is a funny word, but ya’ll, I wobble at life. No joke. 

Yet, who gets things right the first time? That’s not how anything works. 

When I was in elementary school, I was so frustrated we had to write “drafts” of papers instead of just the perfect first one. When I was in college and still writing drafts, I realized that it’s just part of the process to get to a good version. There’s no way to get a perfect version the first time. 

I am reminded this when I clean my kitchen, and there are kitchen mats in piles, chairs in my living room, and everything is a mess until the end when I put each piece back into place. 

I am reminded when I sew something and there’s rough pieces with fraying seams, pins everywhere and it looks like nothing until I put in the final stitch, trim the final thread, and turn it right-side out. 

I am reminded when I paint and there are thirty dirty brushes and tools, muddy water, dry paint on the pallet. Until I clean, put it away and allow the canvas to dry, it’s like a dancer trying new choreography for the first time.

 In progress will always mean wobble.

I am reminded and comforted of the Bible verse:

Philippians 1:6 (Amplified)

I am convinced and confident of this very thing, that He who has begun a good work in you will continue to perfect and complete it until the day of Christ Jesus the time of His return. 

