Do you remember back in the day, going into a video store and looking around for VHS tapes or DVDs to rent for the weekend?

I recall the feeling excitement I held while studying the movie posters on empty cases, and the logos of the video store on the locked video cases behind them. Pure excitement! Digging around to find someone put "Earnest Goes to Camp" behind the picture of "Earnest Goes to Jail" or "Jurassic Park III" was behind "Jurassic Park II." A bit like a treasure hunt.

Do you remember having to go to the front desk and ask if they anyone turned in a copy of "Mission Impossible" that hadn't been put back on the shelf yet?

And back at home, after we were done watching the movie on tape, how many times did we have to wait for "Troop Beverly Hills," "The Rescue" or "The Journey of Natty Gann" to be kind, and slowly rewind in the machine?

If you are old enough to have experienced this, you recall how exciting it was to grab the last new release off the wall, a bag of microwave popcorn, a box of hot tamales, check out and run to the car with the long receipt of due dates and rules and deals like "rent 2 get 2 free!"

When we were young, my siblings and I would try all the video games Blockbuster offered. Nothing like playing Looney Tunes on Super Nintendo all weekend, because we had to beat the game by Sunday night!

When I was older, my friend from church and I shared a Hollywood Video card. Can't tell you how many times we scared ourselves watching "X-files." My other friend and I would rent not-so-popular flicks (i.e. "The Skulls" with Pacey from "Dawson's Creek," "Hard Rain" with Christian Slayter, Morgan Freeman, and Minnie Driver, or "Chill Factor" with Cuba Gooding Jr. and Skeet Ulrich) and joke around a la "Mystery Science Theater 3000."

When B and I got married, there was a video store by our house (now a pizza place) where we would rent television series' on DVD. Bones, 24, Heroes… Fond memories. The beginning of "binging" these visual stories.

I have such a fond place in my heart for video stores, and as the last ones go the way of the Dodo and we nestle harder into Netflix, I won't ever forget their role in making me appreciate cinema.

